Discussion: View Thread

AoM Symposium "What has Happened to Organizational Discourse Analysis?"

  • 1.  AoM Symposium "What has Happened to Organizational Discourse Analysis?"

    Posted 10 days ago
    ---Apologies for cross posting---

    We cordially invite you to attend the live panel symposium on "What has Happened to Organizational Discourse Analysis? Assessing Trajectory and Renewal" at the Academy of Management Annual Meeting 2021 on Saturday, July 31st, 2021, 03:00 PM – 4:30 PM EDT.

     

    Panelists:

    Loizos Th. Heracleous, Warwick Business School

    Gerlinde Mautner, WU Vienna

    Cliff Oswick, City University of London

    Linda Putnam, UC Santa Barbara

     

    Organizer & moderator:

    Yuan Li, Saint Mary's College of California

    Event Program (Zoom link will be available here on event date)

    https://2021.aom.org/meetings/virtual/AeNiefwobSWaozKeX

     

    Overview

    This symposium will assess whether the popularity of organizational discourse analysis is in decline, what problem this decline might raise, and what can be done to address it. Panelists will offer insights into how discourse analysis can address concerns about parochialism and how it can engage materiality and socio-materiality to address social constructivist and critical realist concerns simultaneously. It will also explore multi-modal and mixed method approaches and show how these methods could contribute to organizational discourse analysis. In addition, panelists will explore validity criteria for evaluating discourse work and ways to integrate distinct theoretical perspectives.

     

    Event Date

    The event will take place on Saturday, July 31, 2021, at:

    • 12:00 – 13:30 San Francisco (PDT)
    • 20:00 – 21:30 London (BST)
    • 21:00 – 22:30 Vienna (CEST)
    • 03:00 – 04:30 Beijing (CST) on Monday

     

    Please feel free to reach out to the organizer if you have any questions.

    Best,

    Yuan

     



    ------------------------------
    Yuan Li
    Associate Professor
    Saint Mary's College of California
    Moraga CA
    ------------------------------