The Distinguished Educator Award

The Distinguished Educator Award

The ODC Division is delighted to announce calls for the ‘Distinguished Educator Award’.

Award Description

The Organization Development and Change Division Distinguished Educator Award will be used to honor an individual who has made exceptional contributions to organization development and change education scholarship and/or education practice. Examples of exceptional contributions should demonstrate significant and positive impact, such as the design of innovative ODC-related courses and methods of delivery and assessment, authorship of widely used texts or cases, or the creation of new diagnostic or intervention based approaches to change that have influenced practice and/or led to the development of new conceptual frameworks.

Nomination Process

Nominations for this award should be emailed to the ODC Division Chair-Elect, Patrice Rosenthal. Nominations should include a brief letter explaining the nature and extent of the nominee’s contributions as they relate to the award criteria as well as examples of their work (maximum 10 pages or equivalent). Statements of significant and positive impact should be supported with evidence.


  • Only sole nominations can be considered.
  • Self nominations will NOT be accepted.

Each nominee will be asked to provide a brief portfolio including a short biography consent to be nominated, and a statement that s/he is a current member of the ODC Division of the Academy of Management.

Nominations for the Distinguished Educator Award will be assessed by the Awards Committee of the ODC Division Board. If there is no suitable nominee an Award need not be made.

Further Details

The award will be presented at the Annual ODC Division Business Meeting and the award winner will be expected to attend the Meeting. Award recipients will be required to participate in any media exposure reasonably requested by the Organization Development & Change Division or Academy of Management and will, if requested, provide a photograph of themselves for publicity purposes.

Past Winners
Year Winner University, Topic
2022 - -
2021 - -
2020 - -
2019 - -
2018 - -
2017 Sonia Raghav The University of Western Australia, Multiple Identity Interactions: Implications for Work Outcomes
2016 Janina Reich University of Edinburgh Business School for the dissertation, The relationship between organizational design and identity in situations of change.
2015 Patricia Satterstrom Harvard Business School for the dissertation, Using multi-disciplinary teams to renegotiate power in hierarchical organizations.
2014 - -
2013 Pekka Vahtera University of Leeds for the dissertation, Knowledge Flows in Global Virtual Teams: A Network Perspective.
2012 Faaiza Rashid Harvard University for the dissertation, Authorized Peer Pressure: Effective Real-time Accountability in Cross-disciplinary Teams.
2011 Melissa Valentine Harvard University for the dissertation, High-Velocity Teaming: How Meta-team Affiliation Promotes Coordination Effectiveness.
2010 Ethan Bernstein Harvard University for the dissertation, Innovation Boundaries: Deconstructing Autonomy.
2009 Jill Waymier Paine Teachers College, Columbia University for the dissertation Follower Engagement and Commitment to Change: Examining the Role of Regulatory Fit.
2008 Kaumudi Misra Michigan State University for the dissertation, The Effects of High Involvement Human Resource Practices on Global Team Effectiveness.